• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Agile Scheduling

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I was wondering if your book addressed the difficulties and strategies for scheduling software development for an agile team. I'm relatively new to industry (been out of school only about 2.5 years) and I really only work on the development side, not the project management side. I'm on an agile team, and I'm really interested in techniques for how much scheduling you can actually do for a huge piece of software up front and how much is done ad hoc. Thanks.

Jeff

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Jeff,

We devote an entire chapter to planning-related practices, 70 pages, and cover the material thoroughly.

There are a lot of different components to scheduling. First, you have a choice between "scopeboxed" schedules or "timeboxed" schedules. Scopeboxed schedules release when all of the planned features are complete, adjusting the release date to match. Timeboxed schedules release on a particular date, adjusting features to fit.