• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Johanna Rothman and Manage It!

Sheriff
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I hung around a bit during the discussion around "Manage It!" by Johanna Rothman. I am not a manager, I am a developer. My problem at work, is that there is no manager at all. It gets pretty ugly.

Manage It! has been a true life saver. Since nobody else is managing anything, any small changes I make can have an effect. In the last two weeks, things have been improving.

The first major change was to start timeboxing. I am working on about seven projects concurrently (can you spell "split focus"?) - and often reach points where I need feedback from the client before I can proceed. Before reading Manage It!, my days were one long string of interruptions ("pants on fire", anyone?).

I now have timeboxes of two to three days. I plan one or two timeboxes, and then replan when I reach the end of these. I am allowing one day a week for ad hoc / pants on fire interruptions. I can't delegate them, but I can at least collect them and do a lot less context switching the rest of the week.