• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

J2EE 1.3 vs. 1.4 vs. 1.5 - SCBCD

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello ranchers!
I know you may have been asked this a zillion times...
Although I have never worked with EJB, I'm currently studying for the SCBCD. My idea is to get the knowledge and take the exam in order to compete for EJB junior programmer jobs.
In my road, I cannot help thinking that J2EE 1.3 is a little old fashioned to the date, essentially when the 5.0 version is out there on the street.
My question is my fellow ranchers, is this 1.3 learning process going to help me understand the 1.4 & 1.5 versions, or am I wasting my time? Is the exam worth taking?

Best regards desde Madrid amigos!

XM (Also known as Marx)

Ranch Hand
Hibernate Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There will be companies still for a while using the older versions of Java EE (we're using 1.3 in our office, for instance). So in that respect, there will still be jobs doing maintenance and some new development, even if the spec is "outdated". In that respect, it's probably still worth learning it.