• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

B&S Record Number Question

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all, I realise this is probably a really silly question, and its my first time to post so I hope I don't annoy anyone

I've just started on my SCJD project and I'm in the design phase of the data access part. I've been looking at the instructions, at the part where it tells you about the fields that are in the database and I notice that there are no record numbers, i.e. no unique identifiers for the records in the database. Now, maybe I've just been using relational databases too long but I can't see how this is going to work.

I could of course read all the records and create record numbers for them on the fly but then how do you find them once they've been written to the database? Am I missing something?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies