• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Newbie to ThreadLocal

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Gurus,
I start learning ThreadLocal. I have basic knowledge that is a separate thread to hold a separate value but I don't know if there its practical usage. Could you explain it? Is ThreadLocal useful?

I have the following code

The output is:
New local thread + Thread-0
New local thread + Thread-1
Thread Thread-1 has client Client[2]
Thread Thread-0 has client Client[1]

But if I change the initialValue method to be:

Then output is:
Thread Thread-1 has client Client[1]

Could someone show me why? Much appreciated.

[ Edited to use code tags - Paul Sturrock ]
[ April 14, 2008: Message edited by: Paul Sturrock ]

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by John McDonald:
I start learning ThreadLocal. I have basic knowledge that is a separate thread to hold a separate value but I don't know if there its practical usage. Could you explain it? Is ThreadLocal useful?

It can be useful, but I have seen it mostly used for synchronization (as in this example).

But if I change the initialValue method to be:

protected synchronized Object initialValue()
{
System.out.println("New local thread + " + getName());// + " client Number " + id);
return new Client(++clientNum ;