• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is it worth the time and effort?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,
I am new to the javaranch and I have been wondering around. Is getting the SCJP worth the time and effort? Has it directly helped anybody here get a job? I am working on my bachelors degree but will not finish for a couple of years so I am thinking about working on my SCJP in the meantime. Thanks for any opinions/facts!!

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Effort? what effort?
If you are recruiting for 1 position that is available and you have 2 excellent candidates, but one of them is SCJP and the other not, which one would you choose?
I'm not trying to say that SCJP will give you a job straight, but the possibilities are more. It can also show your employer that you're able to learn and study by yourself, and I think this is valuable.
My $0.02
BTW, welcome to javaranch
[ August 08, 2003: Message edited by: Andres Gonzalez ]

Sheriff
Android IntelliJ IDE Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
IMHO: A programmer's Cert alone will not get you a job. You need to have experience and real knowledge to back it up. You'll get out of the exam what you put into it.