• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

SCJP 1.5 Query

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi to all,

I would like to write SCJP1.5 exam, coming november. I have been working in Java 1.4 for 6 months, but I am new to this 1.5.

What should I do Initially? Which book to follow? Is K&B book enough?.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Initially take one of the mock exams available online WITHOUT any preparation. Just sit down and write it.
Then assess your score and your weak areas. See where you're falling short. Then estimate the effort that will be needed to strengthen these areas. If you've already been working (as in a college or are you a programmer?) with 1.4 for six months you should be in a fairly decent shape but might trip up on the ticky questions, of which there are plenty.
Do NOT set a November date without first assessing where you stand. That's impractical.
See where you are, think about how long it'll take you to get into shape for the exam, and then add an at least 15% overhead and estimate when you'll be ready and set that as your date.
Good luck!

Ranch Hand
Hibernate Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
It all depends on your comfort with Java SE 5.0 (and J2SE 1.4 for that matter - you could always take the 1.4 SCJP).