• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How to get "work experience" :)

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,
I am studying towards MS in computer science. (part time student). I would like to get some experience before I start looking for jobs. I am open for volunteer opportunities. Where should I search? What are open source projects? How can I participate in those projects? any suggestions are welcome.
Thanks,
Vanitha.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There are a lot of open source projects you could get involved with at Sourceforge. Check out the Project help wanted section to find a project to get involved with.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Vanitha Sugumaran:
Talk with your professors.
I would certainly think someone has a project or two laying around that caould be worked on. Granted, you might not get paid. However, most of these projects are academic in nature - meaning they are both a learning adventure for both you ad your professor.
Heck, you may even get lucky and get a professor to score an internship for you with a real-world company (hint!!! A chance to get real-world experience as well as make a little $$).
I would also talk to the career-services folks at the college. Again, never know what they may have.