• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Is Seam Too Important For JBoss?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new to Seam and I know this is heresy, but I'm wondering if Seam as a technology is too important for JBoss to "own"?

Just consider the multitude of questions about JBoss 4.2.0.GA and Seam 1.2.1.GA. JBoss released the 4.2.0.GA app server without any regard to the Seam examples working on it - just when developers are really starting to tune into Seam.

Furthermore, I'm sure the other app server vendors would love to promote Seam as a technology, but are hesitant to do so for fear of undercutting their own app server offering. I have no doubt Seam-clones will soon start appearing under more generic open source umbrellas. (Some might argue Seam borrows a lot from other open source offerings like Spring 2.x.)

I know Gavin King, creator of Seam, now works for JBoss, but am worried that Seam may become too closely associated with JBoss, the app server.

--
jj
[ June 05, 2007: Message edited by: J.J. Jackson ]

author
Python TypeScript Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Then join Seam as a non-JBoss contributor! We certainly welcome contributions (design, code, doc, example etc etc) from outside of JBoss.