• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Java Market in UK

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello Ranchers:

I'm a Java Developer with 4 years of Java, JEE development experience. I've been mostly developing Web applications with Java, JEE and Oracle technologies in Banking and Content Management domain.

I am planning to work and live in the UK for the next few years for various personal reasons. Before just starting up with the visa formalities, I thought I would get to know well about the Job market (particularly Java) in the UK. How bright are the chances for a foreigner to land up in a job in the UK? I am a Sun Certified Web Component Developer and I do have OCA too.
Do the recruiters in the UK seek for certifications in resume for shortlisting candidates? Should I update myself with any other specialized certification before going to the UK?

I would appreciate if someone can give me hints / ideas about how I should go prepared for the UK market.

Thanks !

Hick

Graeme Hick
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by Hick Skis:
Hello Ranchers:

I'm a Java Developer with 4 years of Java, JEE development experience. I've been mostly developing Web applications with Java, JEE and Oracle technologies in Banking and Content Management domain.