• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Servlet and IO - help needed

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi guys, obviously I am pretty new in servlets and I have a serious problem.
I want to write the data retrieved from the user to a txt file.
That's sounds easy right but I have been trying this for the past 4 hours , infact I cant even write anythign to a file thru the servlet please help ...
It works fine in a main method of a decent class when I run it but it just doesnt write to the file when I run the servlet...
here is the doGet() method :

public void doGet(HttpServletRequest request,
HttpServletResponse response)
throws IOException, ServletException
{
response.setContentType("text/html");
PrintWriter out = response.getWriter();
try
{
BufferedWriter pw = new BufferedWriter(new FileWriter("memberfile.txt", true));
pw.write("Please work!!");
pw.newLine();
System.out.println("Why isn't it working?");
pw.close();
}
catch(IOException ioe)
{
System.out.println("IOException thrown in writeMember() method");
}

}

Why isn't it writing to the file? is there anything I dont know? ... please help and thanks

Luca Bracci
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Oh nevermind!!
I got it working