• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

client/server/etc. question

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
This is my first time posting, so hopefully I'm putting this in the right area; I trust someone will move it if not. Okay, here goes:
I have a simple chat room app that will eventually be worked into a servlet with SQL Server features. Trouble is, I can't do the fancy stuff until I clean up a bug. It seems to be connecting to host/port just fine (I even pinged myself to make sure my machine would receive), the GUI comes up, I can enter a message and hit "Send" and the JTextField clears- but the message doesn't post in the frame below, it just disappears. No exceptions are being thrown, and nothing in the console indicates why I don't see my postings. I've tried my specific port as well as 127.0.0.1:8080, seeing if I needed to use a different GUI object to attach the input to in order to make it visible, all sorts of stuff. This is an old example from a Java course I took which I'd like to adapt (thought it would "save me time"- yeah, right), but I can't figure out why it worked in class and not now.
The code is a bit long to post, so I'll defer to y'all to tell me whether or not to put some up. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

Chris Wagner
Greenhorn