• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Forward refs - revisited

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
The Mughal Java cert book I'm currently studying states that
"An instance initializer cannot make forward rererences to member varibles declared after the initializer"
However, the following code compiles and runs fine....
public class Driver{
{
att2 = false;
}
private boolean att2 = true;

The only difference I can see is that the book refers to Java 1.2 but the compiler I'm using is Java 1.4. Is this something that has changed ? Or am I missing something ludicrously simple here
Thanks.

Bartender
Eclipse IDE Ruby Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Spider Man:
As we've said before, Welcome to JavaRanch!
We don't have many rules here at JavaRanch, but we do have a few. One of them is our Naming Policy.
We do appreciate your participation at our site, but we will enforce our naming policy; please change your display name before we have to close your account.
Thank you

author and iconoclast
Mac OS X Eclipse IDE Chrome
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hey "Spidey" (please change the name!)
The line "att2 = false" isn't an instance initializer. What this statement means is that the following would be illegal: