• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

is finally block absolutely necessary?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am a C++ developer and new to Java. When I read about finally, I am wondering why this block is necessary. As in C++ the control will go to the statement after catch block if it encounters exception or after normal try block. It looks to me finally is not needed. To be more clear, look at the section follows,
try{
}
catch(){
}
end:
What I mean is the control flow will always go to statement after label end under both normal and exception circumstances. Can anyone give me some advices?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Rourou
The simplest example of a use for finally would be if you are doing some I/O work. say you open a file and in the try block have some sort of exception thrown. If you have multiple catch blocks instead of trying to close the file in each of them you could just do it once in the finally block.
someone else can probably give a better example than this
hope it helps

------------------
Dave
Sun Certified Programmer for the Java� 2 Platform

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies