• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

need of overriding

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Dear members

when ever i studied about the overriding technique i had a doubt about its need. it may be a simple question to java masters but to whom ever i asked i have'nt got an apt answer.if we declare a function signature in a class and implements that in other class then what is the need of that signature
can,nt we directly extend the class which have implementation and use it?
it is a very basic question so can i expect a very nutshell answer from the members?

thank U

(instanceof Sidekick)
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
You're right about one part. Say we write class A with a nice method doSomething(). Then we write class B that extends A. You can make an instance of B and call doSomething() and the code written in class A runs. That's perfect in many situations.

But we have the opportunity to make B doSomething() slightly different than A did. Maybe A gets some data from a file and you'd like B to get the data from a database. Then you can "override" the method in B to do anything you'd like. This is pretty much the definition of polymorphism - making the same method take two forms.