• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Best class to implement extensible arrays

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I'm new to Java, coming over from years of SAP ABAP coding.

I can see that arrays have to be declared as fixed at construction time.

What if I want to extend the size of the array at run time? What are generally accepted classes to use for such operations? (I assume that there are some). I would like to extend and possibly cut elements from the middle of the 'array', maintaining the order, to access an element by a key (not necessarily the index), and add to the end.

Oh yes, would also like it to be fast!

Kind regards,

Tony.

Sheriff
Mac Android IntelliJ IDE Eclipse IDE Spring Debian Java Ubuntu Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Take a look at the Collections Framework classes in java.util.*
[ March 21, 2005: Message edited by: Junilu Lacar ]

Tony Bateman
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Will do,

Thanks for the quick reply!

Kind regards,

Tony.

(instanceof Sidekick)
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Here's a Crib Sheet I use to keep my favorite collections straight.

Tony Bateman
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thanks for that too!

One question: on your web page you state: