• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

MVC Pattern

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Guys,

Im about to commence development of an application written adopting the MVC pattern. It's my first time using it and i'm spending my first few days reading about it, I haven't used the GUI features in Java before (I have done a large amount of console focused programming in Java) can anyone point me in the direction of some useful guides for MVC?

I have read through a couple of online guides but have found them a little bit vague and sometimes uneccessarily complex.

Thank you!

(instanceof Sidekick)
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Since you reference the GUI features in Java I guess you're building a Swing front-end? See if you can sketch up a short description of the responsibilities of the model, view and controller components, some ideas about how you'll implement them. Scroll down to the UML, OO, etc. forum down the page a ways and post your current thoughts. The gang there will happily critique & help out.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies