The moose likes Cattle Drive and the fly likes The satisfaction of learning Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login

Win a copy of Android Security Essentials Live Lessons this week in the Android forum!
JavaRanch » Java Forums » This Site » Cattle Drive
Bookmark "The satisfaction of learning" Watch "The satisfaction of learning" New topic
Author

The satisfaction of learning

John Ackerman
Greenhorn

I am an RPG programmer and was having a hard time understanding the Java code I encountered at conferences and in magazine articles. This course gave me the basic understanding I was looking for. After completeing the course I was able to write a small J2EE application for one of my clients. Thanks again for being patient and giving me the time I needed to finish the course.
Joyce Lee
Ranch Hand

For me, the main goals for signing up CA were to learn about the nitpickers' perspective in terms of readability and clarity, and to see if there's any room for improvement to my code. I would say those goals have been satisfactorily met after completing the whole course.

Skimming through the the assignments, I wondered, could they actually find something to nitpick on the first assignment, Hundred 1a? Oh yes, they could! I passed on the 3rd attempt for the first assignment.

Along the way, I learnt valuable tips on improving the code from the nitpickers and consolidated them for easy reference. I didn't always agree with every feedback they sent back since readability is quite a subjective matter.

Also, I was quite amazed and admired the nitpickers' boundless patience in reading through the students' code over and over again.

As for whether it is worth the price of US$200, I'd dropped some comments regarding this issue in this old thread.

Joyce
Pauline McNamara
Sheriff

...update a few assignments and a few years later...