• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Could use some advice!!!

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am brand new to the technology world! I am 35 and will be going back to school in January to obtain an assoc. degree in website design/programming. But I want to go ahead and start learning on my own at home. What is the very best book to read and that will give all sorts of exercises to do so that I can learn Java as quickly as possible to get into the workforce? And one more question, how much experience will I need to obtain a position programming in Java for websites and so forth? Any help you can give for this newbie to the computer programming world would be awesome.

Thanks
Jeff

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch.

When I was in a similar position, I was advised against buying books before the start of the course. Presumably you will be taught Java programming as part of your course. Then look in the library there and see which books you like before buying anything.