• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

ADVICE needed on SCJP 6 preperation approach

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all..
I am a final year engineering student.. I want to give SCJP 6 exam before the end of jan 2009.

I know little about java.. but it seems like I've forgotten everything as it was 2 years back I studied java as my subject in college, did very little coding then..

please suggest me on how to prepare for the exam..

my approach for preparation is

finish
1) BIG JAVA 3rd ed. by Cay Hortstman
and then
2)SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 5 (K & B)

I have the above two books..

I have e-books of
Head First Java 2nd edition (K & B)
SCJP Sun Certified Programmer for Java 6-0071591060
Sam's teach yourself java 6 in 21 days

can you suggest me which is better to start off ?? i.e.

BIG JAVA Vs Head First Java Vs Sam's teach yourself java 6

and then is it enough to study SCJP 5 and then have a look at SCJP 6 ?? I didn't find many changes.

Awaiting reply..
thanks..

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi, M Murali. Welcome to Javaranch. Please make your name complying with the Javaranch naming policy.

You should start with Head First Java, followed by SCJP 6 K&B study guide and then solving mock tests.