• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

your advice need

Ranch Hand
Android Eclipse IDE Oracle
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Guys,

I wanna your advice in this issue, I'm a Java developer for 5 years now , i moved from a software house to very known Bank in my area , my tittle in this bank suppose to be developer but actually I'm acting like project manager !! the problem is that i stopped coding now for 6 months and I'm not doing the project manager work stuff from A to Z, all i'm doing is to take care of some projects and coordinate with the different teams till the project goes to Quality assurance department ,they are dealing here with Java stuff but not coding just black box stuff coming from the vendors , in the other hand i asked what if i wanna to work as a developer they told me I'll work in a customized tool made only for the bank and it's not world wide tool or related to Java from near or far !!!
so if i wanna leave this bank (not in the current time ) i will not be good developer because i missed some technologies while i was working here neither a project manager because i'm still young for it and i didn't work actually as a PM (by the way i'm 28 years) and i cant go for PMP certification to be recognized as a project manager ....

So , I'm stuck in the middle ....