• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

SYNCHRONIZATION - extend Thread - super() -- effect of using super() to Thread constructor?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator

Hi, I need help understanding the use of super() on Thread. I'm currently studying SCJP6 primarily using K&B SCJP6 and now doing Whizlabs mock exams.
I have come across the use of super() on a subclass extending Thread. I cannot see any examples of this in the text I have been working from (chap 9),
so its probably not essential for the exam, but I want to do Whizlabs to a good standard before booking the exam.

Does "super(threadName); create a new thread immediately, and would that entered the runnable pool instantly?

ie

As well as searching chapter 9 in K&B, I have not found an example explaining the use of super in this context yet on Sun:
http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/essential/threads or http://java.sun.com/docs/books/tutorial/essential/concurrency

Please point me in the right direction if you know good explanations or examples of this!

MANY THANKS!

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Chrome Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I think, this is another way of giving name for the thread. Also it does not alter the state of the program.

Sheriff
Android Google Web Toolkit Hibernate IntelliJ IDE Spring Java