• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Doubt about deadlock using join and synchronized

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi to all, actually i'm studying for SCJP for April 10 :S . Iwas reading about Threads because i haven't understand yet all concerning Threads. I was coding a java class that works with 3 threads, as you can see in the code:

As you can see, i have 3 girlfriend threads and i want to first to run "Estefany" thread, second "Helen" thread and finally "Ada" thread, so in the run method when the thread is "Ada" then i call join over "Helen" thread to forcing "Ada" thread to run after "Helen" thread dies and after that when the thread is "Helen", join to force "Helen" thread run after "Estefani" thread dies.