• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

about intermediary and ultimate receiver

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi i am very new to webservices.I am getting more confusion about intermediary and ultimate receiver.I have implemented a small application in that i will send a soap request to documentium web service to generate PDF.

java system--------------->Documentium System(service)

As per my knowledge Documentium System is ultimate receiver.correct?As per my understanding intermediary will reside in between and sender and ultimate receiver.Below one is my view about intermediary

javasystem------>webservice1(intermediary)------->webservice2(intermediary)------->Documentium service(Ultimate receiver)

is above representation correct?will intermediary and ultimate receiver reside in same system?what i am asking is

javasystem------------>Documentium service(intermediary+ultimatereceiver)

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi!
Your understanding seems correct to me.
The only doubt I have is that an ultimate receiver is never an intermediary.
In your case, you only have one ultimate receiver, the documentium service.
Best wishes!

Ranch Hand
Hibernate Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I apologize for poking my nose here...