• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Method help: how does this work?

Greenhorn
Eclipse IDE Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I'm still confused how methods work. I am studying Java through Head First Java, a book that experienced Java developers suggests I begin my Java experience. I'm just in the Chapter 2 explaining methods when I came to this problem. Of course I tried my best to solve it but I got a wrong answer. So when I go to the solution page of the book, I got confused.

Here is what confuses me(I'll add comment on the part where I got confused):

The confusing part is the boolean thing and the methods inside DrumKit class. How was it able to work even though it is not inside in any of the 2 methods. Ex. I figured that topHat should be inside playTopHat() method to work and the same with snare and playSnare().

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I haven't got my copy with me; please tell us what the answers were and which you got right or wrong.

Arnel Colar
Greenhorn
Eclipse IDE Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

My first post was the given solution in that book. This is my answer:
My first attempt:

My second attempt was correct but:

what confuses me is the solution in that book.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies