• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Apache QPID on Android

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

I am new to Android development. I am wondering if there is any message broker API can be used on Android platform.
I heard that Apache QPID java API can be used on Android platform. Is it true? Please help.

thanks
Benson

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

There used to be a commercial android jms broker available "iBus//Mobile" from the company "Softwired" a couple years ago,.. but it seems there are no longer any traces of that company or their product to be found.

Apache QPID cannot currently be used as is on the Android platform, because QPID extends jms classes.

JMS classes, along with JNDI are not provided by the Android platform out of the box because these classes are in the javax.* package -- which is large and poses versioning issues that Android releases avoid.

QPID has stated plans of supporting Android in a future QPID release.

To put QPID on Android by oneself, it would require finding out what the needed packages are by JMS,.. and extracting/re-bundling these packages, and putting them on Android.

clojure forum advocate
Mac Objective C Clojure
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Chris Riffle wrote: