• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Sending a message to a remote server

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I've been using Java for a few years now and, until now, I've always felt like I could overcome any obstacle in Java with a little Googling and some trial and error. Recently I decided to give Sockets a try after avoiding learning anything network-related for my entire programming career, but I don't think I can go any further on my own. To state it bluntly, I really have no idea how the internet works insofar as programming is concerned.

Currently all I want to do is to be able to send a message to a server across the internet, have the server process that message, and then have the server send messages back to multiple clients. I'm going to post bits and pieces of code rather than posting everything for now because, at this point, the issue is really just fundamentals. I also think it's important to explain what I hoped the code did. What I have written works fine when I run it locally, but that's probably expected. If nothing looks amiss here I will post the full thing, but like I said, I think the problem is just my understanding of the code rather than the code itself.

Server:

1. I create a server: