• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Does Monitoring via JConsole add additional overhead to JVM

Greenhorn
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
All,

I am a newbie, I have question on Monitoring & Management via JConsole/VisualVM. I understand JConsole provides an efficient way of monitoring and managing remote MBeans residing on a remote JVM, but does it have an additional overhead to the system? Because if we keep JConsole up & running, every 4 seconds it will try to poll the Memory Usage (of Heap/NonHeap and various Memory Pools, etc) via JMX connector, and I believe the Memory Usage is calculated on the fly (via native API calls) as opposed to retrieving it from cache. So according to me there should be an additional overhead (may be negligible).

Can experts put some lights...

Sheriff
Mac IntelliJ IDE Python VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Yes, of course it will have some impact. However, here's an article that says it's only about 3%.

Rudraksh Kreshak
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
That was what I guessed too..