• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Proper Use of Composite Controls

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm new to Java development and am coming from an ASP.NET background, so JSF seemed like a good platform to use. Templating makes sense and works more or less like ASP.NET master pages, but I'm having the hardest time getting my head around Composite Controls which I assumed were roughly equivilent to ASP.NET User Controls. I would like to pass them a data object, and have code tied to the control responsible for rendering it. This seems like a simple and common task, but I'm running into two major problems.

#1 I don't know where to store the logic for the custom control. I can put it in a Bean, but there doesn't seem to be a way to tie a Bean directly to an instance of a composite control. The best I can really do is @RequestScoped which ties it to the page request. But what if I want to have 20 copies of the control on the page, each with their own data objects to render? What's the proper way to tie code to the composite control?