• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

How to connect the value attribute of a form to properties of a entity?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to Java Server Faces.

I set a XHTML page with a form in it, using the form component of J.S.F.

On the other hand I set a JPA entity with properties
and a JPA controller generated from that entity.

My question is how I connect the form of the XHTML with the properties of the JPA entity to persist
the data submitted through the form.

I need to invoke the JPA controller methods from the value attribute of the form component?

Could I see a example of the process? FORM COMPONENT -> J.P.A. ENTITY PROPERTIES

Thank you

Bartender
Netbeans IDE Java Ubuntu
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The usual way of doing this is to have a ManagedBean that will be referred in the facelets page via EL.
You can start with the tutorial page to understand how this works.

Mikel Martin
Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Thank you for the answer.

After some research I see the process of storing data of input components of a form.

A entity class is created -> a session facade is generated for that entity -> a J.S.F. managed bean is created with a reference to the facade through the use of dependency injection