• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Text Crawler

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm kinda new to java and I'm currently trying to create a text file crawler. The program will request that file that user would like to start the crawler, a word the user wants to look for and the number of occurrences of the word the user wants to find. Each file will have one or more reference to another file that the program will find and add to a list for the program to search next. Once the program finds the number of occurrences requested the program should stop and output a message showing the total number of occurrences and the number of occurrences in each file. If the total number of occurrences doesn't equal the number requested the program should output the number found. I know how to do the output messages but I am having a slight problem getting the program to stop once the number of occurrences has been found. Can anyone help me with this? It would be greatly appreciated. I have placed the code I have written below:

Bartender
IntelliJ IDE Python Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There are a number of things you could do: