• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Frustrated Reading Java Documentation

Greenhorn
Eclipse IDE Chrome Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm an experienced programmer mostly UNIX shell/PERL scripting. I do OK programming in Java (basic stuff) the issue comes when I need to use a non-standard or non-highly used package/API (for lack of a better description). I can't seem to understand the documentation on it. Are there points to start at and then read down so that I can understand how to use the subclasses..... I've been very frustrated about this from the get go....

Example of what I'm referring to:
java.lang.Object
- org.apache.sling.api.resource.ResourceWrapper
-- com.day.cq.commons.DownloadResource
--- com.day.cq.commons.ImageResource
---- com.day.cq.wcm.foundation.Image

I'm not asking for tutorial on the classes mentioned above, I'm asking for tips or better yet a tutorial on how to understand Java Documentation.

Sheriff
Mac IntelliJ IDE Python VI Editor Java
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Omar, welcome to JavaRanch!

That appears to be a class hierarchy. Do you understand the concept of inheritance? That's really the key to understanding this documentation, and to being a good Java programer.

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies