• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Strange authentication behaviour

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Dear all,

I'm new to Java EE and I'm sorry if this is a stupid question. I created an application using Java EE 6 and Glassfish 3.1.2. I want that to access to some pages an user supply username and password. All works fine except for a strange (for me) behaviour. I have the following web.xml:

I use the following JSF like a menu to access the pages (I called it welcome.xhtml):

And this is a snippet of UserController.java that should render the JSF pages:

The problem is that: if I enter in the browser address field localhost:8080//Projectname/admin/createUser.xhtml I obtain the login page request. But if I click on one of the links of the welcome.xhtml the browser render the corresponding page without asking me for a login and in the browser address remains localhost:8080//Projectname/welcome.xhtml#. Where is the problem?

Thanks in advance

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the JavaRanch, Enrico!