• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

What's the right way to update your maven project in eclipse after a git pull

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi

I am fairly new to Eclipse, not a massive fan of it so far, as an IDE, but I want to try to like it, before I move to intelliJ.

So, can I ask, after doing a git pull, on the command line, whats the best way for me to update any new maven dependencies, refresh the project, and ensure its up to date.

It seems to me each time I get different results and have to re-run them a couple of times sometimes to see the updates, or even radically close and reopen the project.

Here is the typical routine I use:

1. Do a git pull
2. Refresh the project
3. Project -> clean
4. Maven -> Update project configuration
5. Maven -> Update project
6. In the project directory, mvn clean install -D skipTests

Look, Im fairly new to all of this, so this may well be completely wrong, more than likely its very wrong, I just want the correct minimal amount of steps to ensure my project in the IDE is showing the up to date artefacts, and dependecncies etc.

Sorry again, as a newbie, I hope this isnt too embarrassing a question, and I did google it before I posted it! But to no avail...

Greenhorn
Spring Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies