• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Popular Baby names help

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey everyone my name is Thomas and I'm new to this website. Anyways I'm a beginning programmer and I am completely stumped on this next assignment. It graphs the popularity of baby names from 1880 to 2010.

The directions are pretty long so here they are http://www.cs.washington.edu/education/courses/cse142/13wi/handouts/14.html

The program basically asks us to give an introduction, ask the user for a name and gender combination and then then it will read the data file. If it finds it it should graph the data. If it doesn't find it there will be a short message saying it is not found. Also if the combination is found there should be a DrawPanel graph for the data.

Thanks in advanced!

Saloon Keeper
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Thomas, welcome to CodeRanch!

How familiar are you with Swing, or AWT? Did you have lectures regarding these technologies?

Ranch Hand
Hibernate Python Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Either i am way to tired right now or there really is no question there.

Due to tuesday might be a stretch if you haven't started yet and don't know anything about swing.