• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

OCAJP 7 or SCJA?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I am a business analyst who works between developers and end users.
Long ago, I wanted to take SCJA to show on my resume that I understand java language. Since I am a beginner in java, I thought SCJA would be a good certification for my role.
However, I recently found out that the new certification exam OCAJP7 replaced SCJA.
I have been studying java 7 time to time but I heard that OCAJP is a different form of SCJA. (more focused on programming, instead of concept)
Do you think OCAJP7 will still be useful for me? (I don't actually code- but work with developers)

Also,

http://education.oracle.com/pls/web_prod-plq-dad/db_pages.getpage?page_id=5001&get_params=p_exam_id:1Z0-803&p_org_id=&lang=

is this the right link for OCAJP 7? Looks like OCAJP7 is not the official name for the exam.
Can I still take SCJA? Where can I apply for it if I can? If SCJA is going to be retired soon, do you think it is worthless taking it now?

Please help!

MyExamCloud Software Support
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hey James,

Welcome to JavaRanch!