• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Learning Maven

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,

I am completely new to Maven. I am pretty excited to learn Maven. I have installed Eclipse Java EE IDE for Web Developers. Version: Juno Service Release 2.

I also installed Maven Integration for Eclipse WTP in Eclipse.

I downloaded the latest version of Maven (3.0.5) from: http://maven.apache.org/download.cgi

Now I created a Maven Project : File -> New -> Other -> Maven -> Maven Project -> Next -> Which group ID and artifact ID do I choose ?

How do I make a war file?

Suppose I want to try out a simple web project and would like to make a war file for it and deploy in JBoss server.

How to proceed. Feeling very confused.

Not getting help from anywhere

Please do Help and Guide me to learn Maven !!!

Sid.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi,

Now I created a Maven Project : File -> New -> Other -> Maven -> Maven Project -> Next -> Which group ID and artifact ID do I choose ?

Eclipse -> File -> New -> Other -> Maven -> Maven Project -> Next ->
Then you could select and archetype, set filter to 'web' and select 'maven-archetype-webapp', click next.
Now set group id "my-webapp", artifact id "my-webapp-test" and package "my.webapp.test".