• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Audio Level Meter

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hello

I'm new to programming and I'm trying to make a java application that will "hear" (not record necessarily) the sound and display how loud is.I'm thinking of converting the sound recordings to numbers,so I can see the difference on the sound levels.I got this code and I added the "getLevel()" method,which returns the amplitude of the current recording,but it's returning -1 everytime.I guess I'm not using it properly. Any ideas how I must call this method?I have to deliver my project in a week,so any help will be much appreciated!

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Since getLevel seems to return a float in the range 0.0f to 1.0f, you cannot get it to print -1. It would appear you are never actually getting to that print instruction. Try printing out what the value from read() is, so you can see whether you get to that if.

I shall move this discussion as too difficult for “beginning”.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Campbell Ritchie wrote:Since getLevel seems to return a float in the range 0.0f to 1.0f, you cannot get it to print -1.