• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Help with some code

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,

I am new to Java and I'm currently using a site called Programmr to practice. Anyways there is a problem that I had tried to solve for 4 hours today and I can't seem to nail it down. I know I am close but any help would be great!

"A String variable, fullName, contains a name in the following format:
first name last name (single blank)

Extract the first name into the String variable firstName and the last name into the String variable lastName.
Assume the variables have been declared and fullName already initialized. You may also declare any other necessary variables. "

lowercase baba
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
A couple of things...

I think you are starting off by making this too hard. For example:

"Assume the variables have been declared and fullName already initialized."
So why are you creating a scanner to read the full name in? The above directions to me mean you can simply do this:

you don't need to worry about HOW it got that way, so you can get it that way however you want.