• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

OCA Java SE 8 - a few basic queries

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everyone,

This is my first post, and will probably be the first of many! I am studying for the OCA Java SE 8 Programmer I - Exam 1Z0-808, and I'm using the study guide to do so. I have just started recently and have a few queries regarding what I have learned so far. I thought it would be better to ask them all in one post rather than creating separate posts! So here goes:

The first question I have is regarding garbage collection. I'm fairly certain I understand how it works, I guess I'm looking for confirmation whether my reasoning is correct or not. This is question 20 from the book.

What is true about the following code? (Choose all that apply)

The possible answers are:

A. finalize() is guaranteed to be called.
B. finalize() might or might not be called.
C. finalize() is guaranteed not to be called.
D. Garbage collection is guaranteed to run.
E. Garbage collection might or might not run.
F. Garbage collection is guaranteed not to run.
G. The code does not compile.

The answers are B and E.