• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

New to UML, need tool suggestion

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi everyone.
I am new to UML and was wondering what everyone is using.
Recently I saw a demo of Togethersoft's Control Center, which I thought looked excellent.
What are you using, and what do you recommend.
Thanks
Dan

Author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
There are a number of tools out there. Togethersoft is good because the low end product is free. :-) JVision is also pretty good, especially given it's price. Rational Rose is a commonly used at many companies.
--Mark
hershey@vaultus.com

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I have used Rational Rose 2000e and found it to be extremely good.However, when I was new to UML, I stayed away from tools to get into the habbit of learning to draw the UML artifacts myself.Once I got reasonable confidence in it, I started using Rational.
Hope this helps,
Sandeep

Ranch Hand
Android Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I have used JVision, Rational, and Together Control Center. While Rational and Together have lots-o-features, I like JVision because it's simple yet I can effectively create the diagrams I want.