• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Where to get free linux OS

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi All,
I am new to linux world. I want to install Red hat linux in my PC. I have Red Hat linux 9.0 CD but during installation it's asking for some more drivers. So I am confused. If someone can give me a link to full copy of Red Hat linux which include all the drivers as well that would be great.

Thanks in Advance.

Bartender
Mac OS X Linux Windows
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Woah! Red Hat 9 was discontinued years ago. The closest thing to a free Red Hat Linux is the Fedora Project. A community effort sponsored by Red Hat. Be warned, Fedora is a bleeding-edge distribution. It is very current, but also occasionally buggy.
If you are just starting out, you may want a more stable "desktop" distribution, like Ubuntu or SUSE. Distrowatch has links to reviews and the various download sites. Most of these distros have bootable CD's available so you can test drive before you install.

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Chrome Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi I am also new to linux I downloaded Ubuntu It is really great and simple

just have a look at http://www.ubuntu.com/

Saloon Keeper
Android Eclipse IDE Tomcat Server Redhat Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful