• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Web sites for Extreme Programming (XP)

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am interested in learning about XP. I mainly am interested in learning if it is something I could use in my current work. I'm a web developer in using Perl, XML and (yuck) ASP, and am trying to branch out to Java.
Before investing in a book about XP, I'd like to see some web pages which are accurate about XP, and perhaps XP applied to Java. Does anyone know of any?
Thanks in advance.

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Have you checked out XP Links at xprogramming.com?

author
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

Originally posted by Tim Allen:
I am interested in learning about XP. I mainly am interested in learning if it is something I could use in my current work. I'm a web developer in using Perl, XML and (yuck) ASP, and am trying to branch out to Java.

None of those technical things you mentioned are indicators against XP, IMO. In fact, social circumstances are much more important in this respect.
Can you tell us more about this? Are you working in a colocated team? How is communication with the customer working? How big are the projects (team size)?
And what are you searching for in XP - why are you interested in it?

Timothy Chen Allen
Ranch Hand