• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Just starting as a professional

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I have contributed to many threads here at the Ranch primarily on an academic level. Since I graduated in May, I am just entering the professional realm. I would really like to start my own custom software business. Does your book provide helpful hints on managing projects, especially for a entry-level programmer such as myself? My background thus far is primarily in development, with a little bit in design and testing. I have little experience with dealing with customers and managing documentation. Does your book cover any of these issues as well?

Thanks for your comments.

Layne

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I think you are too early. The book promotion usually starts on Tuesdays.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Having read Ship it! I would say it's a very good book for you. You'll get a really good idea of the goings on in a development environment.

I also would highly recommend the other books in the Pragmatic library if you're just starting out. Nothing like creating a firm foundation from which to build upon

author & internet detective
Eclipse IDE VI Editor Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies