• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Need advices on J2EE related Certificate exams

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi, I am still a graduate student and looking for job.
Well, although I'm pretty familiar with J2EE developing based on Servlets, EJB and JSP ( I setup apache+tomcat for self traing on my own PC), I don't have much outstanding practical experience. So I think I better take some certificates as a prove for myself.
How do you think about Sun's Java certificates and certificates for specific products ( such as IBM's WSAD)?
Actually, I think the real companies care more about your skill of some specific products. I just received a call from a company and asked me several questions. Well, I told him my previous experience on J2EE and Oracle, but he insisted his company requires at least 1 year experience on WSAD. And I lost the job.
So I don't know if I should take Sun's certificate or Other's (like IBM). Sun's certificate seems to be a "general" test on J2EE. While IBM's seem to be more practical.
How do you think? I will be very appreciated to have some advices.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi, Like,