• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Isn't an Handle to an EB dangerous for synchronization?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm studying that on an entity bean component stub (or reference) it makes sense to have business methods to Delete, Update, Query that entity, to get the entity home reference (in order to get other entities of the same type) and...get an handle to the entity.

Now, while handles with stateful session beans have got a meaning (because the client is keeping a reference to business logic), I can't see the utility of having an handle to an underlying entity. On the opposite, I see it as potentially dangerous, because in the meantime (I mean between the moment when an Handle is retrieved and the moment when it is re-used to get a reference (or stub) to the EJB[Local]Object it represents) the underlying entity can have been changed by someone else.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

...between the moment when an Handle is retrieved and the moment when it is re-used to get a reference (or stub) to the EJB[Local]Object it represents) the underlying entity can have been changed by someone else.

(1) yes, that's true, but the same is true if you use a reference (stub)?