• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Which Certification?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
As some of you may know from some of my previous posts, I am a recent college graduate with a degree in Computer Science. I am interested in taking certification tests to add to my credentials. I have been programming with J2SE since Java 1.2 was released. At the moment, I don't have any professional experience with Java. I have written a lot of programs for class projects and a few for personal projects.

So I am wondering whether I should jump right into the SCJP exam or if I should start with this new SCJA exam instead? Does anyone have any suggestions for me?

Thanks,

Layne

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I think SCJP is better. It's harder than SCJA.

Layne Lund
Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Even if I get SCJA, I will move on to take SCJP eventually, too. I guess I should have asked if it is better to jump into SCJP from the start. On the other hand, will it be beneficial to have both certs?

Layne

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I think the SCJP should definitely be your choice.

The SCJA is generally a high level exam, but it covers alot of J2EE topics, you need some familitary with EJB, Servlets, Web Services, JMS and so on.