• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

General question

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Im a graduate student taking JAVA and would like to continue with it AND...would like having taken it to have some cache on my resume. Would going after the SCJA cert accomplish that and how would I prep for it? ARe there good books anybody would recommend?

author and cow tipper
Hibernate Spring Tomcat Server
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Indeed, any certificaiton looks good on a resume. It shows initiative and self-motivation. People that get certifications typically do it on their own, with a large degree of self-study, along with the responsibility of scheduling their own learning timeline and exam date. That's quite a bit different from typical learning environments, and it demonstrates a great degree of gumption.