• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Reading in db file

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm currently playing around with the RandomAccessFile (RAF) class and api (which I have little experience of until now) and am having some interesting *unexpected* results I could do with some help on.

I've sucessfully managed to read in the header details of the file which are cookie [257], each rec len [159] and num fields [7].

However, when I read the next 159 bytes to read the Field Names I seem to get too much information back as it spilts on to the first record.

OUTPUT
------
♦name location @ ♦size ♦ smoking ☺ ♦rate ♦date
♣owner Palace smallville

please help.

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi, James! You may wish to use the following code: