• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Data class

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
This is my first time on SCJD forum, so hello everybody!

I've got a question. Do you think it's a good idea to move data file handling code to another class. In that case only locking mechanism would be implemented in Data class. As for file handling, Data would delegate calls to methods of FileHandler class.

Thanks for answer,
Pawel

author and jackaroo
Mac IntelliJ IDE Firefox Browser Oracle C++ Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Hi Pawel,

Welcome to JavaRanch and this forum.

Personally I would go a step further, and have a separate class for the locking as well. But that is my personal choice.

Take a look at the Facade Design Pattern. Sound familiar? What we are discussing is such a common thing to do that there is a design pattern to express what has been done. Or to put it another way, if you did have a class for your lock methods, you could go into a design meeting and say "the Data class is a Facade for the FileHandler and LockHandler classes" and most of the members of the meeting would know exactly what the Data class does and would be willing to move onto the more important classes.